Apple Macbook may be tempting for you because of it’s weight and convenience in handling. But, for a person used to Windows for fifteen years, life is going to be miserable till you adapt to it. The horror starts from the time you turn on your laptop. There are three main things which you notice.

  1. There is no delete key on your keyboard. You will have to crack your head to understand how to delete a file. What I do is to drag and drop a file into trash.
  2. Touchpad is not tap click. You will have to press the touchpad for left click
  3. Right click doesn’t work on the touchpad.
  4. cmd in iMac equals ctrl in Windows. Is this a consequence of ego clash between Jobs and Gates, no one will know.

Hell lot of playing around helped me in changing to tap click and enable right click in the laptop.

As if this is not sufficient, my troubles with iOS doesn’t end there.

Till now, I didn’t understand how to open a folder. What I do is open the trash folder and navigate through there.

Every now and then, I need to type in the admin password. My next aim is to learn to log in as root by default.

The roller wheel on the mouse should be rolled in a direction opposite to that of Windows(in Windows, you roll it down, the screen scrolls down. In iOS, it’s reverse). And the button to close a window is located at the left, not right. Is it a legacy of Steve Job’s Syrian origin, I don’t know.

Most of the books which I read are in .djvu format. I haven’t found a single free software yet which does this work for me.

The real fun is mounting an NTFS drive as a read write. Windows doesn’t support Apple’s HFS and Apple doesn’t support Windows’s NTFS – a perfect tit for tat. Whatever I search online, there is finally only one way to make this work – fstab hack. Well, whatever I did, the hack didn’t work on my OS version(10.11.3 – El Capitan). Next is this standard software FUSE. Even that didn’t work. Instead of risking a 2 TB hard drive, I thought of formatting a pen drive as NTFS and play with it. Well, it didn’t work, but I found a Seagate solution somewhere which enables Seagate drives. I found another one for Android Transfer and another(Mounty) for NTFS mounts. Most of the work done, but a generic solution obviously missing.

Talking of FUSE, this landed me in another problem. The uninstaller software I installed didn’t pick FUSE and some other softwares because iOS works on folder structure like any other UNIX flavour while Windows operates based on registries. That is the next task for me – to identify the folders where all these softwares(or rather, files) are located. Another day of search, I came across a small utility Mounty which converted my NTFS drive to Read Write. Converted fine, but where is the drive? Next problem, unmount the drive. No option but to use the shell.

If I get too much irritated with iOS, I will simply install Windows on VMWARE and get over with it. However convenient UNIX is with regard to flexibility and ease of use, this sort of mental trauma is not needed in a happy and stable life.

In case you want to go for iOS, first, make a list of problems which you are going to face, then, find out solutions and only then go for it.

