Early in his reign, Tipu Sultan instituted a new calendar of his own design because of the variance between Muslim(Hijri) Calendar and the Solar Calendar, Hijri being 11 day less. The real problem is that while taxes are calculated according to Hijri, crop yield is according to solar. Even though both Tipu’s calendar, which he named Mauladi(sometimes, called Muhammadi) Calendar and the Muslim(Hijri) Calendar had 354 days, he took the intercalary months concept from the Hindu Calendar(Adhika Masa) and added to his calendar to make it as long as a solar year. Mauladi Era starts from the birth of Prophet Muhammad(572 AD), not from the date of his flight from Mecca(622 AD) as like in Hijri. It is named after Maulud-i-Muhammad(birth of Muhammad). It consisted of a cycle of 60 lunisolar years of 12 months each, main difference being, the extra days came at the start of the month, as against the end in Hindu Calendar. It starts on Ugadi day of the Kannada Calendar. In 1787, the names were changed from Abjad system to Abtath system. To avoid confusion between Hijri and Mauladi, while Hijri was written from right to left, Mauladi was written from left to right.

Name Duration(days) New names(after 1787)
Ahmadi(after Ahmed) 29 Ahmadi
Bahari(Bahar – spring) 30 Bahari
Jafari 30 Tqi
Darai 29 Samari
Hashimi 29 Jafari
Wasii 30 Haidari
Zabarjadi 30 Khusravi
Haidari(after Haidar) 29 Dini
Tului 29 Zakri
Yusufi 30 Rahmani
Aizdi 29 Razi
Bayazi 30 Rabbani

  Years followed a 60 year cycle, below names are known. The names are derived using Abjad(for the first five) and Abtath for the balance modified to contain meaningful words.

Years Name Meaning
37 Zaki Pure
38 Asal Beginningless Eternity
39 Jalan Splendour
40 Dalv Aquarius
41 Sha King
42 Sara fragrance
43 Sarab Mirage
44 Shita winter
45 Zabarjad topaz
46 Sahar dawn
47 S’a’har Magician
48 Rasikh firm
49 Shad joyful
50 Hirasat Guard
51 Saz Harmony
52 Shadab moist
53 Barish rain