The problem is this speech is not available in toto online. Luckily, I found it in K M Munshi’s memoirs, The End of an Era, albeit a slightly different one from the one circulated online after a search of more than an year. A different day on the book itself.

In November last a small group which had organized a quasi-militaiy organisation, hostile to Hyderabad’s best traditions, surrounded the palace of my Prime Minister, Nawab of Chhatari, in whose wisdom I had the completest confidence, and Sir Walter Monckton, my Constitutional Adviser, and thus by duress compelled the Nawab of Chhatari and my other trusted ministers to resign and forced the Laik All Ministry on me. This group, with Kasim Razvi at its head, which had no stake in the country nor any record of service behind it, by methods reminiscent of Hitlerite Germany, took possession of the State, spread terror into all elements of society, Muslims and non-Muslims, that refused to bend their knees to them, committed arson and loot on a large scale, particularly on Hindus and rendered me completely helpless. For some time I was anxious to come to an honourable settlement with India, which India was willing to come to, but this group, in its ambition to found an Islamic State in which the Muslims alone of Hyderabad should have citizenship rights, got me to reject the offer made by the Government of India from time to time. I am a Muslim and am proud to be a Muslim; but I know that Hyderabad cannot remain apart from India. My ancestors never made any difference between the 86 per cent Hindus and the 14 per cent Muslims in the State. The relations between the two communities – political, social and religious – were the most cordial ever found anywhere in India. This was attained as a result of the policy which my ancestors and I pursued in the past. During the 8 months this group was in power aided by the Razakars it brought about the most intensive communal hatred which, unfortunately in the position that I was placed, I could not prevent

