Tags

, ,

Yesterday, I hadn’t noticed that my pass expired. Which means I was on a pay as you go scheme. If you are using buses in London, a maximum of four swipes of Oyster Cards in buses will move you into the free travel range. After jumping seven buses and walking some seven kilometres in between, I reached Wimbledon and then decided to take a train back to Hampton and a bus from there. I swiped my card. The balance left was £0.20. I got down at Hampton, the balance was -£1.90. When I swiped the card on my eighth bus of the day, I got an error not enough balance and had to shell out £2.35 from my pocket to get into a civilized area from the middle of nowhere. For a layman, this is the issue. As it looks, the issue is something like in the code, they had a wrong order of loops. It currently, I believe, is

If there is sufficient balance in the card
     If the daily maximum cap is reached
        Do not charge
    Else
        If upper cap – the amount deducted < maximum journey fare
           Deduct the balance
       Else
           Deduct full journey fare
Else
    Display insufficient balance

Instead, it should have been

If the daily maximum cap is reached
    Do not charge
Else
    If there is sufficient balance in the card
       If upper cap – the amount deducted < maximum journey fare
          Deduct the balance
      Else
          Deduct full journey fare
   Else
       Display insufficient balance

